Great Books Council of San Francisco

Bay Area Adult Discussion Groups

The San Francisco Bay Area has adult discussion groups in most communities. The following is a list of these groups including their locations, meeting times, book selections, and contact person.

For more information on individual groups, call or e-mail the contact person or area coordinator. Most groups welcome new members. Some groups have a waiting list. To make corrections or additions, please contact Jan Vargo at vargopack@cs.com or (510) 849-1824.

Quick Scroll to Area

Central Valley

East Bay

Marin

San Francisco

San Joaquin, Foothills, Sierras

Sonoma County & North Coast

South Bay, Santa Cruz, Monterey


Meeting Place Contact Name Email Address Phone Meeting Time Readings
 

Central Valley

       
Auburn: Placer County Library
350 Nevada St.

Donna Reynolds

Walter L. Wilson

pianogaldonna@gmail.com

bonwally@hotmail.com

(916) 797-8561

(530) 878-6640

2nd Tues., 1 pm GBF: Great Conversations 1
Davis & Woodland: homes Pat Dearborn dearborn@cal.net (530) 758-0108 3rd Wed. or Thurs., 1:30 pm GBF: Short Story Omnibus
Fair Oaks: private home

Catherine Vigran

Sheri Kindsvater

tvigran@comcast.net

kindsvater@aol.com

 

(916) 852-0615

2nd Wed., 7:30 pm Contact for information
Sacramento: Arcade Library
2443 Marconi Ave.
Dorothy McHale
Jim Vasser
dlmchale@gmail.com
vasser.james@yahoo.com
(916) 726-0758
(916) 638-0740
Contact for information GBF: Great Conversations 5
Sacramento: Hart Senior Center Senior Center
Charlotte Donovan
  (916) 808-5462
(916) 457-8756
4th Mon., 10 am Contact for information
Sacramento: State University
6000 J St.
John Quattrin
Pam Flohr
jaqbaq@sbcglobal.net
ksyrah1@att.net
(916) 971-1460
(916) 876-0314
Fri. 2/month, 10 am GBF: Short Story Omnibus,
GBF: 50th Anniversary Series,
Various
Walnut Grove: Sacramento Delta homes Yvonne Pylman homeranch@aol.com (916) 744-1354 2nd and 4th Tues., 10 am GBF: Great Conversations 4,
Sci Fict,
GBF: Counterparts

East Bay

Jan Vargo

vargopack@cs.com

(510) 849-1824

 

Alameda: Main Library

1550 Oak Street

Jeff Hitchings honourhitchings@msn.com (240) 893-0325 2nd Tues., 6 pm GBF: Counterparts
Albany: Alameda County Library
Marin Ave. branch
Rosalie Gonzales
Albany Public Library
rlgonzales@comcast.net
(510) 525-3029
(510) 526-3720
4th Wed., 1:30 pm GBF: Great Conversations 4
Berkeley Poetry Group: private home Carol Hochberg carol_hochberg@comcast.net (510) 666-8496 1st Thurs., 7 pm Poetry: members' selections
El Cerrito: Open House Senior Center

Cecilia Arthur

cecilia.arthur@att.net

(510) 235-7190

3rd Tues., 1 pm GBF: Seven Deadly Sins
Hercules Public Library Mary Peters mpeters@ccclib.org (510) 245-7190 Last Mon., 7 pm GBF: Even Deadlier

Oakland: Lake Park Residence

1850 Alice St.

Jan Vargo vargopack@cs.com (510) 849-1824 2nd Thurs., 7 pm GBF: Immigrant Voices,
GBF: Imperfect Ideal,
Various

Orinda Community Center

26 Orinda Way

Marge Roth marjorieroth@sbcglobal.net (925) 254-3389 Alt. Wed., 7 pm GBF: Immigrant Voices,
GBF: Counterparts
Pleasanton: Towne Center Books
555 Main St.
Brian Mahoney

Peter MacDonald

gbbrianmahoney@gmail.com

pmacdonald@macdonaldlaw.net

(510) 301-1945

(925) 462-4430

4th Mon., 7:30 pm Various
Walnut Creek: homes in area Ronald Kihara rkihara@comcast.net
  1st Mon., 8 pm Books and other selections
Walnut Creek: Rossmoor Bill Kadner
Betty Cash
wjkadner@gmail.com
bettymcash@yahoo.com
(503) 819-7343
(925) 926-0731
4th Mon., 10 am
(not Dec)
GBF: Short Story Omnibus
Walnut Creek: Rossmoor
Dollar Clubhouse
John Marsyla
Barbara Shapiro
sisujam@gmail.com
hefhero02@gmail.com
(925) 817-9422
(702) 812-5765
4th Mon., 7 pm GBF: Immigrant Voices
Walnut Creek: Rossmoor
Dollar Clubhouse
Joe Ficurelli
Bill John
ficurelli@hotmail.com
whjohn2@gmail.com
(925) 210-1840
(925) 938-8701
4th Fri. GBF: Even Deadlier
 

Marin

Rick White

rwwhite@aol.com

(415) 382-1927

 

Mill Valley: W. America Bank

64 E. Blithedale Ave.

Norman Nayfach normansn@hotmail.com (415) 499-3173 2nd and 4th Thurs., 7:30 pm GBF: Citizens of the World
Novato: Hamilton Field SIR
(Sons in Retirement)
Dick Locke
Jim Rohde
rflocke@comcast.net
jvrohde@aol.com
(415) 897-1572
(415) 897-1613
4th Thurs. GBF: Great Conversations 5,
Various

San Rafael: Falkirk Mansion

1408 Mission Ave.

Louis Rutledge

Phillip Sheridan

louiscrutledge@msn.com

pjsheridan@comcast.net

(415) 388-2937

(415) 233-2987

1st Thurs., 1:30 pm Contact for information

Tiburon: Belvedere-Tiburon Library

Founders' Room

Phyllis Trieber phyllistrieber@comcast.net (415) 435-1452

2nd Tues., 1:15 pm

(not July/Aug)

GBF: Even Deadlier,
GBF: Great Conversations 6
 

San Francisco

Jim Hall

jimsrhall@earthlink.net

(415) 387-2125

 
Anza Branch Library Clifford Louie clifford.louie@sbcglobal.net (415) 750-1786 3rd Sat., 1 pm GBF: Intro. to Great Books 2,
GBF: The Seven Deadly Sins
Homes

Nancy Wortman

acandnanc@yahoo.com

(415) 566-1392

3rd Sun., 7 pm Contact for information
Main Library
100 Larkin St.
Jim Hall

Clifford Louie

jimsrhall@earthlink.net

clifford.louie@sbcglobal.net

(415) 387-2125

(415) 750-1786

1st Thurs., 5:30 pm GBF: 1st Series
Noe Valley Branch Library
451 Jersey St.
Elena Schmid eschmid@sonic.net (415) 550-9065 2nd Wed., 6:15 pm GBF: 4th Series
North Beach Branch Library Jim Hall jimsrhall@earthlink.net (415) 387-2125 2nd Sat., 1 pm GBF: Intro. to Great Books 2
Presidio Branch Library
3150 Sacramento St.
Jim Hall

Chris Hammer

jimsrhall@earthlink.net

chammer@sdplusb.com

(415) 387-2125

(415) 928-7941

1st Wed., 6:30 pm GBF: Intro. to Great Books 3
Richmond Branch Library Jim Hall

Clifford Louie

jimsrhall@earthlink.net

clifford.louie@sbcglobal.net

(415) 387-2125

(415) 750-1786

2nd Tues., 6:15 pm GBF: Counterparts,
GBF: Imperfect Ideal
Sunset Branch Library
1305 18th Ave.
Clifford Louie clifford.louie@sbcglobal.net (415) 750-1786 3rd Tues., 6:15 pm GBF: Intro. to Great Books 3,
GBF: The Seven Deadly Sins
The Sequoias
1400 Geary Blvd.
Jim Hall jimsrhall@earthlink.net (415) 387-2125 3rd Tues., 3 pm GBF: Great Conversations 1
West Portal Branch Library
190 Lenox Way
Clifford Louie clifford.louie@sbcglobal.net (415) 750-1786 4th Wed., 6:30 pm
(not December)
GBF: Intro. to Great Books 1,
GBF: Counterparts
 

San Joaquin, Foothills, Sierras

 

 

 

 
Visalia: College of the Sequoias Joseph Teller josepht@cos.edu (559) 730-3925 Mon., 4 pm Contact for information
 

Sonoma County & North Coast

Jim Hall

jimsrhall@earthlink.net

(707) 696-8335

 
Rohnert Park: Oak View Jim Hall

Jeff Fulton

jimsrhall@earthlink.net

fulton.jeffrey@att.net

(707) 696-8335

(707) 584-0583

1st and 3rd Tues., 7 pm

GBF: Great Conversations 1

Santa Rosa: Friends House Jim Hall

Jean Holroyd-Sills

jimsrhall@earthlink.net

holroyd@ucla.edu

(707) 696-8335
(707) 539-7192
1st and 3rd Wed., 7:15 pm

GBF: Great Conversations 4

 

South Bay, Santa Cruz, Monterey

Brent Browning

brentbrowning@comcast.net

(408) 353-6340

 
Los Altos: Public Library
San Antonio Rd.
Marcene Van Dierendonck
Jennifer Sheppard
mvd1131@aol.com
jen_sheppard@comcast.net
(650) 961-7380
(650) 961-7380
3rd Tues., 6 pm GBF: Great Conversations 6,
Poetry
Los Gatos: Unitarian Fellowship
15980 Blossom Hill
Brent Browning

Erma Browning

brentbrowning@comcast.net

ermabrowning@comcast.net

(408) 353-6340 2nd Mon., 7:30 pm GBF: 1st Series
Monterey: Monterey Peninsula College
Great Books Certificate Program
David Clemens dclemens@mpc.edu
http://www.mpc.edu/greatbooks
(831) 646-4267 Contact for information Contact for information
Monterey: Monterey Peninsula College
Great Books club
Anita Johnson, PhD
David Clemens, Eng. Dept.
ajohnson@mcp.edu
dclemens@mpc.edu
http://www.mpc.edu/greatbooks
(831) 646-4062
(831) 646-4267
Contact for information Contact for information
San Jose, Los Altos, Sunnyvale area: Homes
Elaine Dvorak
Willie Wool
de.dvorak@sbcglobal.net

(408) 249-5412
(408) 738-4807
2nd and 4th Tues., 1 pm Various, poetry
Santa Cruz: Dominican Oaks
(OLLI)
Faye Alexander qtpie95010@gmail.com (831) 476-8575 1st Thurs., 1:15 pm GBF: Great Conversations 6,
GBF: Even Deadlier
Soquel: Cliffwood Estates Clubhouse (OLLI) Susan Gorsky
Judy McNeely
sgorsky@sbcglobal.net
judybookdoc@collegepathfinders.com
(831) 688-5371

1st Wed., noon Contact for information
 

[- Top of Page -]      [- Return to Home Page -]

Page Last Updated: April 04, 2016